Current Owner Title & Registration of Out-of-State Vehicles

Model Years
Motor vehicles from model years 1986 through the current year are required to be titled in this state. Vehicle models from 1963 through 1985 may be titled if the owner has a title to support his or her application that is either issued in their name or properly assigned to him or her without a break in the chain of ownership. A Georgia Certificate of Title is required for mobile homes and cranes with a model year from 1963 through the current year.  If the out-of-state title was issued with a salvage, rebuilt, reconstructed, or similar brand / legend, an inspection is required prior to issuance of a license plate or title.


Each vehicle that requires a Georgia Certificate of Title must be registered within 30 days of establishing residency in the state of Georgia to avoid late penalties.  All applicable title transfer fees and tag fees are due in full upon registration of the motor vehicle.  The customer has the option of paying 50% of the TAVT portion (and any applicable penalties) upon initial registration of their vehicle(s).  Any remaining balance must be paid within 12 months to the County Tag Agent where the vehicle was initially registered.  A Georgia Title will not be issued until the TAVT is paid in full.

All owners/leasees must sign the title application form.  Any owner additions or deletions require signatures, please phone our office for further instructions.

If the Vehicle Is Paid For
If the vehicle is paid for, the following information and documentation must be provided when application is submitted:  
  • Out-of-state title or bill of sale depending upon the year of the vehicle 
  • Proof of Georgia liability insurance is required at the time of registration and must be updated on the state database via Electronic Insurance Verification (EIV) within 30 days 
  • A valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card with a Clarke County address
  • Original date of purchase
  • Current vehicle mileage

If the Vehicle Is Financed
If the vehicle is financed, the following information and documentation must be provided when application is submitted:
  • Out-of-state registration 
  • Proof of Georgia liability insurance is required at the time of registration and must be updated on the state database via Electronic Insurance Verification (EIV) within 30 days 
  • Complete name and mailing address of lien holder along with the account number
  • A valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card with a Clarke County address
  • Original purchase date
  • Current vehicle mileage

If the Vehicle Is Leased
If the vehicle is leased, the following information and documentation must be provided when application for registration and title are submitted: 
  • Out-of-state registration
  • Original Power of Attorney from leasing company authorizing you to sign the application or a copy of your current lease agreement 
  • Proof of Georgia liability insurance is required at the time of registration and must be updated on the state database via EIV within 30 days 
  • A valid Georgia driver's license or Georgia identification card with a Clarke County address
  • Original lease date
  • Current vehicle mileage