There's a better way to personalize your website experience. With myConnection, the profile you create allows you to set up a unique starting point for the tasks and transactions that you want to complete in your time on this website. Use myConnection to gather the information that you most care about from across this website into one central location, giving you greater control over how you connect with your community.
Scheduled maintenance will occur on June05, 2015 from 12:00am to 3:00am DST. During this time, your payment processing application will be unavailable.
The Motor Vehicle Division / Tag Office is located at 3025 Lexington Road. Office hours are 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. The office provides information regarding vehicle registration, tag renewal, title application, tag transfers, and ad valorem taxation on motor vehicles.
NEW RESIDENTS have 30 calendar days after establishing residency in Georgia to register their motor vehicle, tractor, motorcycle, or trailer and get a Georgia license plate. Vehicles must be registered at the Tax Commissioner's tag office in the county where the vehicle owner lives. Before registering your vehicle you must get a Georgia driver's license or Georgia issued identification card that shows your Clarke County residential address and Georgia liability insurance. The Georgia Department of Driver Services issues driver's licenses. Call 866-754-3687 or visit the DDS website for more information.
GEORGIA RESIDENTS have seven business days from the date of purchase or acquisition of a motor vehicle, tractor, motorcycle, or trailer to register and obtain a Georgia license plate or to transfer an existing valid Georgia license plate to the vehicle. Vehicles must be registered at the Tax Commissioner's tag office in the county where the vehicle owner lives. Before registering the vehicle you must have valid Georgia liability insurance in place. You will need to present a valid Georgia driver's license that reflects a Clarke County residential address.
PENALTIES and fines will be assessed if you fail to register your vehicle within 30 days of establishing residency in this state (for Georgia residents, seven days from the purchase or acquisition date of the vehicle). You may also be cited by law enforcement incur additional fines.
Acceptable methods of payment in the office are cash, in-state checks, money orders, MasterCard, VISA and Discover. A 3% service fee for credit card transactions and a $2.00 fee for debit card transactions will be added to the total amount due.