Tax Commissioner

Tax Commissioner Responsibilities

The tax commissioner is an officer established by the Constitution and elected to serve the citizens of Athens-Clarke County. Responsibilities include:

  • Preparation of the digest
  • Performing all functions relating to billing, collecting, disbursing, and accounting for ad valorem taxes collected in the county
  • Receiving tax returns and applications for homestead filed by taxpayers
  • Serving as an agent of the state revenue commissioner for the registration of motor vehicles and mobile homes
  • The tax commissioner and staff are dedicated to providing prompt, professional, and courteous service to the taxpayers of Athens-Clarke County

2019 Tax and Tag Office Holiday Closures

  • Monday, January 21, 2019, Martin Luther King Jr Holiday
  • Friday, May 24, 2019 Statewide Motor Vehicle Computer Update (Tag office only) 
  • Monday, May 27, 2019, Memorial Day
  • Thursday, July 4, 2019, Independence Day
  • Monday, September 2, 2019, Labor Day
  • Thursday, November 28, 2019, Thanksgiving
  • Friday, November 29, 2019, Thanksgiving
  • Tuesday, December 24, 2019, Christmas Eve
  • Wednesday, December 25, 2019, Christmas
  • Wednesday, January 1, 2020, New Year's Day

0 of 2 people found this page helpful. Was this page helpful for you? Yes No